Finalists announced for sixth annual THB Sports Awards | High School Sports


ANDERSON — The sixth annual THB Sports Awards will be broadcast live from the Paramount Theater in downtown Anderson on Tuesday.

Doors open at 6pm, show starts at 7pm. Admission is free, and the public is welcome and encouraged to attend.

The awards will be divided into 17 categories, including male and female athletes of the year. Nominees for these awards include Individual Sports Athlete of the Year announced throughout the academic year. The final nominees — in men’s golf — will be revealed at Saturday’s tournament.

Here are the other finalists for this year’s event:

Johnny Wilson Award for Boys: Ethan Colvin, Daleville; Owen French, Anderson; Nathan Knop, Madison Grant; Jack Melvin, Frankton; Mark Nelson, Pendleton Heights; Jayden Reese , Elwood; Mason Zent, ​​Alexander

Girls Johnny Wilson Award: Kenzi Cornwell, Elwood; Daya Green, Madison-Grant; Bella Dean, Frankton; Kayla Muterspaugh, Shenandoah; Kerith Renihan, Lapel; Julia Smith, Anderson Prep; Lily Thomas, Alexander; Whitney Warfel, Pendleton Heights

Boys breakout players: Devin Craig, lapel football; Collin Osenbaugh, Shenandoah baseball; Kayden Simpson, Elwood wrestling

Girls Breakout Players: Sophie Goodwin, lapel cross country; Chloe Wenger, Frankton golf; Laniah Wills, lapel basketball

Coach of the Year: Rob Davis, Pendleton Heights softball; Melissa Hagerman, Pendleton Heights cross country; Zach Newby, lapel girls basketball

Men’s Comeback Award: Andrew Blake, Pendleton Heights cross country; Collin Osenbaugh, Shenandoah baseball; Jack Todd, Pendleton Heights wrestling

Women’s Comeback Award: Kadence Aikin, Daleville cross country; Eddie Brobston, Frankton basketball; Alexa Owens, lapel softball

Heart of motion: Anne Barnes Bennett, Elwood; Bill Hutton, Pendleton Heights; Shane Leisure, Daleville

Mentality of boys: Tanner Brooks, Madison Grant; Ricky Howell, Pendleton Heights; Aaron Woodyard, Liberal Christianity

Girls mentality: Alicia Allen, Shenandoah; Shameel Clervrain, Free Church of Christ; Hayley Nickum, Frankton

Moments of the year: Ignacio Arquillos, Anderson football; Aaron Hartley, Frankton boys tennis; Maddy Poynter, lapel girls basketball; Bo Shelton, Pendleton Heights softball

Boys Scholar-Athletes: Zion Brick, Daleville; Jess Howell, Madison-Grant; Gage Rastetter, Frankton

Women’s Scholar-Athletes: Deannaya Haseman, Lapel; Peyton Sargent, Anderson; Lily Thomas, Alexander

Team of the Year: Daleville Volleyball; Lapels Girls Basketball; Pendleton Highland Softball

Finalists will be celebrated in a special THB Sports Awards preview section of the Monday edition of the Herald, and winners will be celebrated in a special section of Wednesday’s print edition.

The Herald-Gazette congratulates each of this year’s finalists and nominees, and we look forward to seeing you all at the Paramount Theatre.


This news collected fromSource link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *