33 Huskers Named Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars

LINCOLN – A total of 33 University of Nebraska student-athletes were recently recognized with the Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award for the 2022-23 season.

The 33 Nebraska honorees, including 19 women and 14 men, were featured on different issues in higher education. Winners represent 15 different Husker sports.

To be eligible for the annual Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar award, a diverse student-athlete must be at least a sophomore academically, maintain a cumulative 3.50 GPA, and be active on campus and in the community. All recipients must be undergraduate students.

A total of 18 student-athletes were named to the first team, including eight men and 18 women, while a pair of Huskers were finalists for the 2023 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award.

husk swimmer Madison Longquilio Won the runner-up of the women’s team. Ronquillio maintained a 3.83 GPA while studying Nutrition and Health Sciences. As captain, she has been active on the SAAC and Husker Pantry Student Advisory Boards and has volunteered at numerous community events.

Men’s track and field athlete Mikaren Moore won the men’s runner-up. Moore is a biological science major with a 3.86 GPA. As a member of SAAC, his community outreach activities include visits to hospitals and schools, food drives and Brother2Brother seminars.

Men’s first-team winners include Sam Phillips (gymnastics), Moritz Müller (gymnastics), Ronnie Hitaranta (tennis), Calvin Müller (tennis), Nick Weidenhorn (Tennis), Mathias Algarin (Athletics), Mikaren Moore (Athletics and Field) and Till Steinforth (Athletics).

Women’s first-team honorees include Isabelle Byrne (basketball), Amara Smith-Speights (bowling), Alexis Butchert (bowling), Martina Comyn (gymnastics), Madison Longquilio (swimming and diving), Emily Hyams (swimming and diving), Jillian Roa (tennis), Jamieson Battistella (track and field), Lishanna Ilves (track and field) and Darby Thomas (track and field).

In addition to the 18 first-team honorees, Nebraska has 13 second-team honorees, one third-team member and one student-athlete who are four-team honorees.

Diverse Magazine first established the Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award in 1992 to recognize undergraduates of color who exemplify the standards set by the tennis legend. As a scholar and athlete, Ash seeks to expand opportunities for young people.

Nebraska 2022-23 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar

student athlete sporty team
Sam Phillips medium gymnastics First
Moritz Müller medium gymnastics First
Roni Hitaranta tennis First
calvin muller tennis First
Nick Weidenhorn tennis First
Mathias Algarin M track and field First
M Karen Moore M track and field First
Till Stanfords M track and field First
isabel byrne w basketball First
Amara Smith Speights bowling First
alexis butchert bowling First
martina comin Gymnastics First
Madison Longquilio swimming/diving First
Emily Hyams swimming/diving First
Gillian Roja w tennis First
Jamison Battista W track and field First
Lisanna Ilves W track and field First
Darby Thomas W track and field First
Oleg Koyenets men’s basketball second place
jack nolly M track and field second place
Lorenzo Pesan M track and field second place
Terrell Wilson M track and field second place
lena hassett w golf second place
Andrea Velez Lopez w golf second place
Clara Colombo Gymnastics second place
Genesis Gibson Gymnastics second place
Emma Spencer Gymnastics second place
Eleanor Dell football second place
Isabel Androver Gallego w tennis second place
Johanna Ilves W track and field second place
axelina johnson W track and field second place
pass moren duro M track and field third place
Ruquan Buckley football fourth place

This news collected fromSource link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *